The Insurance Professional of the Year Award

Made possible by the establishment of the Richard B. Simches Fund in 2001, the Insurance Professional of the Year Award is presented each year to a person who demonstrates leadership and exemplifies those qualities that engender understanding of and respect for the insurance industry. A few years ago, The Library created a short blog post with some additional background information on the award, you can access it here.

William F. Hofmann, III was the first winner of the Award. Bill was selected to receive this award in recognition of the outstanding services he has provided in promoting the interest of the public and the insurance profession.

John B. Conners was the second winner of this award. He was chosen, in part, because of the important work he has done in the auto insurance field, both for consumers and for the industry.

David J. Lane was the third winner of the award. He was selected in recognition of his exemplary service to the public and to the insurance industry, both in his work in the insurance field and in his work as a state representative.

Ralph “Buddy” Iannaco was the fourth winner of the award. Buddy was selected because of his long career in the public sector both at the Division of Insurance and currently with the Commonwealth Auto Reinsurers.

Daniel J. Johnston was the fifth winner of the award. He was selected because of  his dedicated work for the public and the industry both as president of the Auto Insurers Bureau and Executive Director of the Insurance Fraud Bureau.

John K. Golembeski was the sixth winner of the award. He was selected because of his work in the public sector through his role as president of both the Massachusetts Property Insurance Underwriting Association and Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance Association. He has been appointed to numerous arson task forces and has been involved with several fire training programs. 

Ronald Mariano was the seventh winner of the award. He was chosen because of his commitment to the public and the Insurance Industry through his work as a House Chairman of the Joint Committee on Financial Services.

Richard “Dick” W. Brewer was the eighth winner of the Award. He was chosen because of his impeccable reputation among his peers for his keen insight and his ability to understand the viewpoints of others. Dick’s distinguished career in a variety of roles has meant that he has met and worked with many different people with divergent interests.

Michael J. Sabbagh was the ninth winner of the Award. He was chosen because of outstanding contribution to the many communities in which he is active. His long service with the Massachusetts Division of Insurance in several key roles and as Insurance Commissioner benefited the insurance industry and consumers alike. His membership on numerous boards and board committees is a testament to the respect of his peers.

Sandra G. Parrillo was the 10th winner of the Award. Not only was she the first woman to win the award, but she was the first recipient from the greater New England area! Her service to insurance organizations in leadership roles is exceptional. She has also contributed to the wider community through such organizations as the Greater Providence Chamber of Commerce, the Diocese of Providence, The Narragansett Council of the Boy Scouts of America and the Rhode Island Governors Insurance Council.

Hope A. Aldrich was the 11th winner of the Award. She is an inspiration to many, having contributed to the insurance industry in many distinguished roles. Ms. Aldrich has been the President and CEO of Eastern Insurance since 1997, and is responsible for the leadership of one of the largest full service insurance agencies in New England. With over thirty years of experience in the insurance industry, Ms. Aldrich has held leadership roles at AON Risk Services and Liberty Mutual Insurance Company.

Francis X. Bellotti was the 12th winner of the Award. He has a reputation for encouraging those around him to grow professionally and to succeed. Because of his dedication and approachability, people have a deep-seated affection for him. Mr. Bellotti was first elected to public office in 1962 as Lieutenant Governor. He later served as Attorney General. Mr. Bellotti is also one of the Founders of Arbella Insurance Company.